Detroit Jazz Festival 2016 -Opening Night

Opening night of the jazz festival starts with a reception and a concert featuring the star headliners. This year was no different.

The weather for the weekend looks to be spectacular. The first evening was extremely windy though and most people were not quite dressed for the unexpected wind.In this picture, you can see the flags completely horizontal as the wind blows through the event. We were served appetizers and small bites. I had small bites of macaroni and cheese as well as chicken fried steak. There were also small desserts that were sort of bite-size and quite good including brownies and small cupcakes.Edit


I arrived late so when I went over to see the opening headliner of the Ron Carter Nonet, there were no VIP seats available.  Yes, I buy the VIP tickets so I can get the close seats and catered meals. There was available fence space within the VIP seating and I could see rather well. I was not able to get a program so I only knew Ron Carter by name.  There were also another bass, four cellos, keyboard percussionists. Chris Collins, the director of the jazz fest, did not introduce the musicians as is the usual practice. The mix of songs tended towards slow songs. Much of the music was bowed rather than plopped on the base which is in itself unusual. The music was different than I had expected but I did enjoy it.

The next band in the line up was the Soul Rebels, a group from New Orleans. And again, none of the members were introduced by name.


And the last act was George Benson who was introduced by name. Although, I enjoyed some of the music, I really think he falls more on the pop side of music rather than jazz. A lot of times, though, the jazz fest has performers to introduce a people to jazz and this may have been an example. 


I didn’t go out to the after fest parties. I had about 3 solid hours fo music and more would have been overwhelming.  I have learned my limits. 

Today. Maybe I can find a program and have a great music day.

Leave a Reply

