Battling with Raccoons….

20140616-202358-73438149.jpg
The raccoon in the picture is a local raccoon but not the one who was in my house.

For about the last ten days I have been battling raccoons that moved into my home. At first, I thought the sounds were mice in my garage or their larger cousins rats. I put out mouse and rat traps and nothing. I put out mouse poison. There was not a nibble.

The sounds continued. The noises got louder. They were loudest at about 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.. After a few days with no results, I looked around and spotted a hole under and eave in my home. That day, that lady next door reported seeing a raccoon on the roof of my attached garage.

That evening. I was in my bedroom closet and heard a sound that sounded like birds chirping. It was a Mama raccoon and her babies. I shut the closet door. My ever attentive dog tried to open the door. She also started barking at walls.

Last Saturday, I called for help. I checked around and found a guy on Angie’s List who does live capture and releases the the invading wildlife back to the wild.

The first night, I heard the trap spring at about 9:30 p.m.. The cage was rattled periodically all night long. It was the Mama and she was not happy. From the sound showing the ability to rattle a rather large cage, I thought it was the Mama. When I checked in the morning, she was curled in a ball and sound asleep. I put in a call to my guy who said he would pick her up and set a new trap.

20140616-204134-74494506.jpg

Last night, one of the babes was trapped and was reunited with Mama at rehab. When the whole litter is trapped, they will go to the wild site. I have to say that the noise last night was so much less noise that I may just be able to get more sleep tonight. It is just before 9:00 p.m. and I can hear the rest of the babes getting ready to go out for the evening. There is a delicious can of cat food awaiting them.

Leave a Reply

