My Cheesy Holiday

20131223-162542.jpgTop Row: apple, pear, Touvelle cheese, Somerdale Red Dragon cheese. Second Row: Smoked Gouda, Havarti with Horseradish, Wensleydale Abbot’s Gold Cheddar with Carmelized onions, Somerdale Harlech (cheddar with horseradish and parsley)Third Row: Cheddar, Havarti with dill, Extra Sharp Cheddar.
I really like cheese. More times than not there is cheese in my refrigerator. Recently though, I have had a cheese explosion.

It all started when I was shopping to take something to my son’s house in Ohio for Thanksgiving. I thought cheese would be a good afternoon snack while waiting for the turkey. While I was walking through a local store, I noticed some cheese samples and crackers. I tasted one of the cheeses and it was ok. Then, I tasted another cheese and my immediate though was that this was the best cheese I have ever had. The cheesemonger suggested another one and it was almost as good. I got the Red Dragon and the Wensleydale with carmelized onions. The Red Dragon is cheddar combined with ale and mustard seed. It is a wonderful creamy cheddar with a bite at the end with the mustard seed. The cheddar with the carmelized onions has such a depth of flavor, it is amazing. I took both of them on my visit. And they were eaten in short order. When I got home, I got some more. They are so rich that one or two crackers are enough. The smell is so strong that when I open one, my dog Bonnie makes an appearance at the kitchen door. Her nose knows.
It is overwhelmingly wonderful.
I already had the Havarti with dill and extra sharp cheddar on hand. Then, I got a Christmas package from my aunt and brother and more cheese with the apples and pears. I’m just so glad cheese lasts a long time if it is wrapped carefully.

Leave a Reply

