A Stressful Work Day

20131205-223601.jpg

Wednesday may have been one of the worst work days I have ever had. Luckily, I started more relaxed than usual since I had just returned from a long holiday weekend at my son’s house. I had thought I would not ever write about work but Wednesday changed my mind.

I got to work about fifteen minutes before starting work. As I let myself in, I called out and nobody answered. I was working with two others and there was also someone in to handle the phones. I got things set up. I tried to unlock one of the drawers with files and the keys were not in the usual place. A couple of people were outside the door and I am not supposed to let anyone in until there are at least two employees. With opening scheduled in five minutes, there was still nobody except me. I checked the computer to see who was scheduled. By opening, there was a line of six at the doors. I decided to let them in since with that number, I was not concerned with being robbed. The phones be gam to ring. At one point about five minutes after opening, I was trying to check in six clients and handle three phone calls. A person who was not scheduled walked in and saw the mess I was in. She began to handle the calls while I was checking in clients who were not happy. I was really angry. I was also trying to not show it to the clients.

About fifteen minutes after starting time, the others began to show up. One walked in talking on her cell phone. It was clear she did not seem to think there was something amiss by being fifteen minutes late. Within five minutes, all the missing had checked in.

I must say I feel apart at the onslaught. The phone calls were not handled well. I didn’t greet the client well. The only thing that went well was that I got over it and to work fast.

4 thoughts on “A Stressful Work Day

Leave a Reply

