Friday Night Music at Bert’s Motown Room

20131007-115146.jpg

Left to right: Mike Malis on keys, John Douglas on trumpet, Alex White on drums and Ib Jones on bass

After my visit to Cliff Bells on Friday night, I went over to Bert’s Motown room. Sometimes I feel as if I am personally wearing a rut in the streets of Detroit going to see the John Douglas Quartet at Bert’s Motown Room. It has a small cover of $5 and it is one I pay knowing the music will be well worth it. I got there when they were on break. I saw someone I knew and we had a pleasant chat waiting for the music and made sure I got back to my table before the music started.

The quartet started with “Softly as in a Morning Sunrise” And later played “So What” another favorite.It is one of my favorites and probably why I like this venue so much. For this venue, the mic is open with the approval of John Douglas. Both David Greene and Mark Croft, trumpet players joined in the set. There was also another trumpet player and I did not know his name. I was ready to throttle him since he was standing in front of me for a good part of the song talking to another trumpet player. He did move before I got up and did something. After the noise of their conversation and view blockage ended, I was able to listen the way I like. One of the trumpet players was sitting at the next table was playing along softly and another was plying softly behind me. Not only did I have live music,I had a quadrophonic experience. It was a relaxing and good experience.

I

Leave a Reply

