Changed Perspective

20130831-093012.jpg

Credit: MacMillan Dictionary

Last night was the first night of the Detroit Jazz Festival and I didn’t go. I got dressed and ready. I realized I was really tired and just did not want to be there in the huge crowd.

This last week I have had insomnia. My dog, Bonnie, gets up each morning at 7:30 a.m. and also wants to go out at about 3:00 a.m. Yesterday Bonnie went to the kennel for the weekend since I was not planning on being home a lot. She is in a play room all day and walks in the door without hesitation when I take her there.

The first night is usually a showcase of the various upcoming acts. The crowds are huge. Walking anywhere is blocked by people. As an introvert, it is not a great place for me. I got a great night of uninterrupted sleep and feel good and ready for three days of jazz.

There was a time in my life when I would have gone without paying attention to how I felt. I have learned to pay attention. I used to be afraid I would miss something. Now, I can leave when I have had enough knowing that feeling good is more important than anything I may miss.

Today I am refreshed and ready to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

