Sunday Night at the Cadieux Cafe

20130826-090851.jpg

a photo of a table top at the Cadieux Cafe.
The Cadieux Cafe is on the Eastside of Detroit and the home of Feather bowling. It is a Belgian cafe and specializes in mussels. A lot of people come to the Cadieux for an afternoon of feather bowling followed by a mussels dinner. To score in feather bowling, one rolls a faux cheese wheel down an alley and get as close to the feather as possible.

20130826-091227.jpg

The Cadieux Cafe also has a regular Soul Jazz Sunday music program. Not all of the music is actually “Soul Jazz”. I haven’t been there for a long time and decided to give it a try last night. A big part of the draw was the hot wings. The hot wings are a special treat for me. The heat of the wings is enough to clear any allergic reaction to pollen. And they include a rich, creamy bleu cheese dressing as a dip which cuts the heat go the wings. In biting into a wing, there is the smooth cheese followed by the heat of the wing. They are served with hand wipes due to the inevitable mess.

20130826-092257.jpg
I arrived after the band was supposed to start and they hadn’t started since they were waiting for one of the band members. Last night is was the Mark Lipson Quartet. The quartet was Mark Lipson(drums), Scott Gwinell(keys), Steve Wood(tenor sax) and Miles Brown(bass). Individually, they are all good musicians and I wanted to see what they would do.

20130826-092830.jpgLeft to right: Miles Brown, Mark Lipson, Scott Gwinell and Steve Wood.

They started with “It Could Happen to You” which is an old standard. As I expected, all the musicians played well. The second number was a composition by Mark Lipson. After the second number, Mark pulled out a tip jar. This is a no cover event and the pay is not much. He said that if we were in New York, we wild be paying a $20 cover. He was accurate. In New York, everyone has a $20 cover and it is not the case in Detroit. The last number of the set was “Raunchy Rita”.

I found something out about myself. I like music that stimulates me when I go out. The music they played was pleasant. All the music was played at the same tempo. “Raunchy Rita” had a little oomph though. I got so relaxed thatI was afraid I would need a designated driver to get me home. So , I left after the first set.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Night at the Cadieux Cafe

  1. Marsha- thanks for checking out my writing. A lot of it is about Detroit. I also play Ska/Reggae with a band called Superdot in Detroit. We are playing at a place on Sept 5th in Royal Oak and Smalls in Hamtramck on Sept 21st. Anyway, I like your blog.

    • I do like your stuff. I liked the “pigs fly” when i saw i last week for the first time. You have humor That is not heavy handed and just works. I go out go out for music quite a bit and mostly jazz. I hope I can catch you sometime since I like Ska/reggae as well.Being sort of retired allows me the time.

Leave a Reply

