Standing in Line…..

The other day at work I told my coworkers I was stepping out of the office to get a Subway Sandwich. Our office is in a local mall and the food court is right outside the door. We don’t get a lunch break on some days since we work short hours.

As I walked across the eating area to the subway shop, I saw that the line was a little longer than usual. I didn’t want to be gone for more than a few minutes and still thought it would be fine.

I have always had issues with lines. In grocery stores, I seem to pick the wrong one. Well, not really wrong, but the one that moves the slowest. I look for the line with the fewest SUVs when I get gas at Costco where there are always lines. These lines no longer bother me as much since I am usually alone and know that it all evens out over time.

The line at the Subway had four people and I thought I would be able to get back to works after just a few minutes. The first one went right through. When the second one began to place her order several people appeared who had been sitting. It was a family affair. One person was placing an order for four different sandwiches and it took almost the same time as four people. The next customer had four year old twins with her. At each selection, she asked the twins what they wanted. The kids selected the bread, the filing and the cheese. She went through each vegetable or add- on one by one and queried the twins. Lettuce, spinach, green peppers, tomatoes, olives, pickles, banana peppers, onions, cucumbers and jalepeño peppers were the choices. And then they chose the dressing. I was frustrated. There were a couple of people behind me at that point and many eyes were rolling in exasperation.

So, it may not be lines that are so frustrating but the completely unexpected chance change from ordinary to extraordinary that in some cases is frustratiing.

7 thoughts on “Standing in Line…..

  1. It’s difficult when you’re pressed for time and there are line ups. I can’t imagine going anywhere these days where we don’t have to wait…a true exercise in patience, hope we’re on the winning end. Smiles

    • The impact was probably due to it being the second time pressure event that day. On my way to work, I stopped by an ATM and found the card of the previous person in the machine. I took the card and completed my transaction hoping the person would return. They didn’t. It took me an extra 10 minutes to get someone at the bank to take the card. I was a few minutes late for work and also the first to arrive.

Leave a Reply

