Motor City Wine 2.0 – The Funhouse

20130808-170757.jpg

Last night, Wednesday, August 7, 2013 was my first visit to the new home of Motor City Wine located at 1949 Michigan Ave in Detroit. It was a move from downtown to the Corktown neighborhood. The new place is larger and better arranged. When I walked in,I walked into a bar area with chairs along the bar. The design arrangements around the bar in the wall are wine corks arranged in designs. The place is not carpeted like the other place. They have a nice outside patio. They were planning on having music events on the patio but some people live nearby and the noise disturbs them. They may pipe music outside later.

I didn’t have to climb up a flight of stairs at the new place. And there is a parking lot. No more looking for a place to park.

I ordered my blood orange soda and a plate that included herbed salami, asiago cheese with basil and a bowl of olives served with crackers. Within a few minutes, Charles Greene and his girlfriend came and sat with me. I’m glad I had someone to share since it was too much for me alone. The flavors I picked were bold and luckily, the crackers were bland so it was a good combination.

There is another room next to the bar and this was where the band played. The set up is better for music. It was the usual Funhouse crew of Kris Kurzawa ( gtr), Skeeto Valdez ( drums ), Takashi Iio (bass) and Phil Whitfield ( keys). For any Canadians, Phil is from South Detroit or Windsor, Ontario.

20130808-171552.jpg

The music is not so loud I can feel my body vibrate as it was in the first place. They have a certain distinctive style of playing and have usual favorites. Most of the favorites are compositions of the band. They did play one I hadn’t heard before called “Funky Strut” written by Phil Whitfield and I do like funky music. The funkiest number of the evening was “Do It Again” a Steely Dan cover. That one was played by Charles Greene on keys and Freeman Spells on bass. That one was really good.

I usually stay for one set but tonight I stayed for the evening. Somehow, the idea of driving in the opposite way from home and into downtown was not appealing. I considered what was available and went home after two sets.

It was an enjoyable evening. I heard good music and got to sit with people I like.

Leave a Reply

