My Battle With My Dulcimer

20130619-092711.jpg

Each Tuesday I have a dulcimer lesson and I get thrown back into a place previously not visited often. I am a beginner. I am incompetent. I usually do things where I have a bit of competency. So, I choose to look at the lessons as a good things. I am doing something new.

Tuning the dulcimer has gone from being an utter nightmare to being doable. Progress.

As I get older, I want to keep on learning and doing new things. About four years ago, my father died. This is one of the most precious lessons he taught me.

6 thoughts on “My Battle With My Dulcimer

  1. I know what you mean about music lessons. I took guitar lessons last year and I am incompetent. Have you tried an electric tuner for your dulcimer? It saved me a lot of time on the guitar.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

    • I do have an electric tuner. My dulcimer is 17×17 and each note has 2 strings and the treble bridge has one note on each side of bridge. Yikes, 102 strings for 51 notes. It is so much easier now but still frustrates. The strings are settling in….I am beginning to play with others…really scary. Music is a passion of mine.

      Thanks for your comment,
      Marsha

  2. I really admire you trying to learn something new, and something so complex. I recently took up golf, which my husband loves, after years of dismissing it. I am really enjoying the challenge, mental and physical, it demands.

    • Trying something new is one those things that can really open new awareness and experience. I try to get out of my comfort zone on a regular basis. Good luck with golf! It is a great challenge.

Leave a Reply

