The Michael Jellick Trio at the Nothtern Lights Lounge

Tonight I took my regular Wednesday night trip to the Northern Lights Lounge to hear the the Michael Jellick Trio. This has become more ritual than routine. For me, this is a musical adventure when Michael Jellick is in the house.

The first set is at 9:00 p.m.. And they start on time. For the servers, I am routine. Once a month there is a long table of people who work together and got there after work. This was the week. they are generally a noisy crowd. they also leave around the time the music starts. i finally saw a table near the front where i like to sit and went to a table. I saw one of my friends on the other side of the room. i decided to stay where i was because we are both intense listeners. The server brings me a club soda and lime as I walk in. She asked me if I wanted the usual, beef nachos. It is huge.

20130613-003858.jpg

All the vegetables are fresh and I can take a lot home. The food came quickly. The music had already started. Some young women sat down at the table next to me. They started talking and got louder as the music got louder. If they wanted to talk, why didn’t they pick a table towards the back of the the room?

I was sitting close enough to the stage to hear Michael call “Caravan”. It is one of my favorite numbers and I especially like the way Michael Jellick changes it every time I hear it. It is so inspiring to be able to hear the same number done so many ways. Each one is an exciting audio adventure. It was followed by “Bye, Bye Blackbird”. The melody of blackbird started with the bass player and was again an innovative way of approaching the song.

20130613-005420.jpg

Those picture above shows Michael Jellick at the keys and Eric Nachtraub on the bass. This is, for me, a place where one set is fully satisfying.

After the set, my friend and I talked for a bit and we were both blown away by “Caravan” and “Bye, Bye, Blackbird”. Michael came up and we both told him how much we liked the numbers. He told how he got the idea for the arrangement on “Bye, Bye Blackbird” and how he was going to use the idea on other numbers. Hearing how he creates stimulates my ideas for playing my hammered dulcimer. This is the best part of the Detroit music scene…the access to the musicians.

Leave a Reply

