The Funhouse at Motor City Wine

Each Wednesday, Motor City Wine hosts the Funhouse in downtown Detroit. I sometime want to hear their particular modern, funky jazz. They recently won the Detroit MUsic Award for the best Modern Jazz Group in 2013.

Motor City Wine is a small wine boutique in downtown Detroit. It is one of those places with parking at a premium since it is is on Woodward Avenue, Detroit’s Main Street. I have found a place to park that has been working for about a year so parking is not an issue for me. I parked my car and walked around the corner and to the door about fifty feet away. In winter, since smoking is not allowed in bars, I usually have to walk through a group of smokers huddled by the ashtray. But, it is spring and the tables have been set out for the season so getting to the door is easier. After opening the door, I climbed the steep stairs lead to a room painted in a dark red glossy paint. The wall color is broken by the many displays of wine against the walls. The proprietor is already opening my blood orange soda and pouring it in a glass. And the band is already playing. It feels good.

20130530-105832.jpg

The Funhouse was put together by Skeeto Valdez and plays modern, funky jazz. The group won the best Modern Jazz Award for 2013 from the Detroit Music awards. The group changes from time to time. I hate to see someone go but, when someone new arrives the music undergoes a subtle change. Each time the change is unpredictable. This time, the funk got amped. The group for the last few months has been Skeeto Valdez (dms), Kris Kurzawa ( gtr), Phil Whitfield (keys) and Takahashi Io(bass).
Skeeto is she driving force of the group.

20130530-115937.jpg

Kris Kurzawa, guitar, is one of t he best jazz guitars in Detroit. The group performs many Kris’ compositions.

20130530-120208.jpg

Both Philip Whitfield and Takahashi Io are relatively new and both have a heavy dose of funk.

20130530-120341.jpg

20130530-120445.jpg

Last night was one of those nights I just went with the flow. The music moved me and I sank into it with abandon and felt at ease with the world. It was just what I needed.

Leave a Reply

